Conservation Awards

2022 Awardees to Be Honored Dec. 14

Each year, Robert Cooper Audubon celebrates individuals and organizations who make noteworthy contributions to conservation and environmental education in our region. This year’s honorees will be celebrated on Wednesday, December 14. Visit our Upcoming Programs page for details. (Photos of all recipients coming soon!)

Helen Steussy, winner of the 2022 Cooper Conservation Award

Award categories are as follows:

  • Robert H. and Esther L. Cooper Conservation Award: the chapter’s highest honor, for overall contributions to, conservation of, and appreciation for the natural environment
  • Clyde W. Hibbs Conservation Education Award: for excellence in educating the area’s children, youth, and /or adults on conservation issues and practices
  • Richard Greene Public Service Award: for active involvement in serving the public’s environmental interests and concerns
  • Phyllis Yuhas Wildlife Habitat Preservation Award: for development or preservation of habitat that contains significant wildlife and/or native plant life populations
  • Charles D. Wise Youth Conservation Award: for excellence in conservation practices by a youth under the age of 18

Since 1983, our chapter has honored nearly 160 individuals and organizations that have conserved and restored habitat or educated the public about the importance of protecting wildlife and maintaining biodiversity.

Past Award Winners

Our chapter presented its first two conservation awards in 1983 and quickly expanded to four annual awards. The Charles D. Wise Youth Conservation Award followed in 2003. All five awards given today are named in honor of individuals who’ve had a significant impact in our community’s or chapter’s work to serve and protect the natural environment.