Robert Cooper Audubon Society Award Recipients


Robert H. and Esther L. (Munro) Cooper Conservation Award: the chapter's highest honor, for overall contributions to, conservation of, and appreciation for the natural environment

Clyde W. Hibbs Conservation Education Award: for excellence in educating the area's children, youth, and/or adults on conservation issues and practices

Richard Greene Public Service Award: for active involvement in serving the public's environmental interests and concerns
(began 1984)

Phyllis Yuhas Wildlife Habitat Preservation Award: for development or preservation of habitat that contains significant wildlife and/or native plant life populations
(began 1985; renamed 2006)

Charles D. Wise Youth Conservation Award: for excellence in conservation practices by a youth under the age of 18
(began 2003; renamed 2008)

1983 Robert H. & Esther Cooper Pamela Popovich, writer & environmental educator, Muncie _______ _______ _______
1984 Charles & Juanita Wise, BSU Prof. of Biology Mary & Cliff Gough, New Castle Richard A. Greene, Columnist - Muncie Star _______ _______
1985 Charles & Shirley Keller, writer, Indianapolis Clyde W. Hibbs, BSU Prof. of Natural Resources Patrick Murray, Muncie Lois & Edgar Seward, Muncie _______
1986 James Cope Allen King, Environmental Educator, New Castle Robert Holt, Muncie Robert Farlow _______
1987 Virginia Ball, National Wildlife Federation, Muncie Neil Case, Columnist, Muncie Star Muncie/Delaware Co. League of Women Voters I O'Ruth & Clarence Ashburn _______
1988 Amy & James Mason, Indianapolis Emily Kress, Indiana Wildlife Federation James Watkins, Yorktown Carolyn & Charles Clark _______
1989 Deanna & Denzel Barricklow, Mary Gray Bird Sanctuary, Connersville Donald Miller Marjorie & Sherman Zeigler, Muncie Judy & Jim Lambert _______
1990 Jim Jontz, Indiana General Assembly Marcia Johnson, Instructor, Garfield Elem., Muncie John Craddock, Muncie Div. of Water Quality Jim Davis & PAWS, Inc., Albany _______
1991 Tom & Jean Dustin, Izaak Walton League, Ft. Wayne Steve Hickay, Ag. Instructor, Shenandoah High School Vic Hesher, Site Manager, Wilbur Wright SFWA, Mt. Summit - none - _______
1992 Indiana Nature Conservancy, Stefan Anderson, accepting Sheryl Myers, Instructor, Highland H.S., Anderson Diana Shaffer, Resqu Haus, Yorktown Carol & Wendell, Wesley _______
1993 Donna McCarty, Indianapolis Barbara Hannah., Principal, & Cindy Becker, Instructor, Blue River Valley Elementary Ron Bonham, Director, Prairie Creek Reservoir, Muncie

- none -

1994 Environmental Science Program, Taylor Univ., Upland Dr. Edwin Squiers, accepting Recyc/ing Centers, Muncie YWCA, Phyl Perry accepting Lyla Spath Rector, Director, Muncie/ Del. Co. Clean & Beautiful Parks & Rec. Department, City of Anderson _______
1995 Oakhurst Gardens, Minnetrista Center, Muncie Christy Woods, BSU, Cheryl LeBlanc accepting Eric Spangenberg: Urban Forester, City of Muncie Mary Anne & Nick Diruzza, Alexandria _______
1996 Kenneth Brunswick, Director, Limberlost Swamp Remembered, Geneva Scott Andersen, Pendleton Kevin Tungesvick, Anderson Don & Phyl Perry, Parker City, Selma _______
1997 Rosemary Bracken (posthumously) – Bracken Environmental Fund, BSU Nancy Carlson (Gene Stratton-Porter: Voice of the Limberlost video), Yorktown Ron Fox, western Delaware Co. Bill and Kelly Pence, Chesterfield _______
1998 Cardinal Greenway Jack Cronin, Cowan White River Watchers John and Carolyn Vann, Springport _______
1999 BSU Wildlife Society Peregrine falcon program (BSU) Tom and Jean Harbron (Birds of Madison Co. website) Seth Slabaugh, Muncie Star Press Bob & Pam Varick, Selma _______
2000 Brian and Genny Gordy (creation of Sierra Club) Warner VanFleet Barry Banks (creation of Red-Tail Conservancy) White River Rescue 2000 _______
2001 No banquet (moved to spring) _______ _______ _______ _______
2002 Bill and Laura Cummings (donation of land to Red-Tail Conservancy) Amy Kress (educational programming at Oakhurst/Minnetrista) Tom Swinford (IDNR) - none - _______
2003 Red-Tail Conservancy Laura Edmunds (Soarin' Hawk Avian Rescue), Ft. Wayne Nikki Turner (posthumously) Linda and Duane Briar, Markleville Ian McIver, Yorktown
2004 Wildlife Resqu Haus, Inc. Mark Mullen, Winchester Jeff Ray (Friends of the Big Blue River), New Castle Frank Howat, Elwood Andrew Parker, Anderson
2005 Phyllis Yuhas, Muncie Jim Campbell, Anderson Indiana Online Birding Guide (Darel Heitkamp, co-creator) Bob and Bonnie Parsons, Anderson Quentin Mullen, Winchester
2006 White River Watershed Project Deborah Brown, Muncie Union Chapel Ministries, Muncie Myron and Phyllis Bell, Mooreland Luke Murray, Gaston
2007 Barb Stedman, DeSoto Adam Winters, Mooreland Dwight Shelton, Farmland Loretta Heiniger, Anderson - none -
2008 Warren Vander Hill, Muncie Sara Jarvis, Muncie Dave and Sara Ring, Albany Cliff and Nancy Arellano, Anderson Adam Linder, Anderson
2009 Muncie Sanitary District Camp Prairie Creek Delaware County Triad Kathy and Don Stone, Montpelier Cassandra and Madelin Grosh, Muncie
2010 Charlie Mason, Muncie Marilyn Marks, Muncie Kent Hanauer (IDNR) Robin and Mark Scott, New Castle - none -
2011 Craddock Wetland Nature Preserve, Muncie Angie Manuel, Anderson Muncie Indiana Transit System (MITS) Josie and Geoff Fox, San Jose, Cal. Southside H.S. Marine Corps Junior ROTC, Muncie
2012 Bill Grummer, Guerneville, CA Jennifer Peters, Muncie Motivate Our Minds (MOM), Muncie Limberlost Swamp Remembered / Friends of the Limberlost, Geneva Muncie Central H.S. Recycling Club
2013 Healthy Communities of Henry County Curt Burnette, Geneva Greater Muncie Habitat for Humanity's ReStore ACRES Land Trust, Huntertown Alexandra Forsythe, Bippus
2014 Don Gorney, Indianapolis Cheryl LeBlanc, Muncie Susan Eichhorn, Middletown Limberlost Conservation Association, Geneva Indiana Young Birders Club
2015 Amos W. Butler Audubon Society, Central Indiana Tom Sproat, Newport, KY Muncie/Delaware Co. League of Women Voters Helen Steussy, New Castle Matthias Benko, Indianapolis
2016 Living Lightly Fair, East Central Indiana John Taylor, Muncie Muncie Mission Ben Hess, Geneva - none -
2017 Josie and Geoff Fox, San Jose, CA Julie Borgmann, Muncie Soup Kitchen of Muncie Micayla Jones, Muncie Logan Carter, Muncie
2018 Barry Banks, Muncie Don Ruch, Muncie Scott Andersen, Pendleton Jeff Ray, New Castle - none-
2019 Friends of the Limberlost, Geneva Terri Gorney, Ft. Wayne Anne Maddox, Marion Barb Hesselgrave, Yorktown Andrew Glover, New Castle

Please contact with any corrections or additional information about recipients.